Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 05-26-2017, 08:00 PM   #1
dave.adams

Shower Remodel

I'm in the middle of a complete bathroom remodel, demo'd everything down to the studs.

At this point the drywall, floors, vanity, and toilet are in, and I'm about to start on the shower.

I'm a bit paranoid about building the shower pan as I seem to have stumbled across all kinds of horrible YouTube videos of tile guys ripping out bad shower jobs. So I'm looking for some advice to make sure I get it right as this is my first time:

(1) the drain is flush with the concrete slab, and so I need the pre-slope to zero out at the edge of the drain assembly. Is this a problem?

(2) The shower enclosure is about a 3x5, with the furthest wall from the drain being about 4 feet. My plan is to just run the same height all around, and dealing with the steeper grade at the back of the shower by the drain. So the height of the preslope at the walls would be 1 inch all around. Any reason I should not do it this way?

(3) as far as pouring the shower pan, is there any secret to it? I've watched several videos and read articles on various forums, so I get the idea of it... just seems like getting a smooth 2% grade from wall to drain is an art, and I'm worried that mine will end horribly with all sorts of ridges and flat spots.

(4) My plan is to put the 2x4s in to frame my shower curb, then just use my sand topping mix to build the pre-slope, lay the PVC liner, then the top layer of sand topping. Am I missing anything in there as far as the shower pan is concerned?

Thanks in advance. It's my first time posting, so I apologize if I posted in wrong place/wrong way.

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 603
Size:  34.8 KB