Paint overspray on gypcrete [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Paint overspray on gypcrete

Tom H
01-11-2004, 02:46 PM
We are building a 3,300 sq ft house on spancrete which is the second floor of our project. The drywallers got paint spray all over the floors. We are going to be laying about 2,500 sq. ft. of marble tile on the gyprete. The big question here is "do we have to remove the paint overspray" in order to lay the tile??

And if so does anyone know the best and easiest way to remove it. This could be a huge project that we had not planned on so don't know if it is worth the trouble.

I wish we had found this site earlier!!

Tom H

Sponsored Links

Sonnie Layne
01-11-2004, 03:06 PM
It's been said many times before on this site that yes, you must remove the paint. I sometimes wonder why, if the paint is thoroughly bonded, but I haven't been setting tile for 30 years either. I am a painter, however ;) I don't know spancrete, but I'm assuming it's some kind of cementitious product. A disk type floor sander with coarse scothbrite or sandpaper would be a place I'd start at removal.

Tom H
01-11-2004, 03:09 PM
I was afraid you were going to say that.

Thanks for your help!!

flatfloor
01-11-2004, 03:45 PM
Tom it will come right off just be sure to wear a HEPA mask and have a shop vac running constantly. Lots n Lots of dust.

Hope your planning to seal that stuff whether you sand or not then use Ditra wherever you tile.

Leaving the paint would be extremely risky if not downright foolish.

Me, I would make the painters clean it up.

Sonnie, Spancrete is a flooring system of basically concrete planks the gypcrete or a SLC is poured over them to level the floor (planks)

Sonnie Layne
01-11-2004, 03:59 PM
Thx Jim, I'm seen what you're talking about, just never worked with it or knew what it was called.