Standing water in corner of tub [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Standing water in corner of tub

Dave Triplett
01-30-2011, 07:50 AM
Hi all,

My name's Dave, I'm a former electrician (a good one), I'm a good handyman for most projects, tile... not bad thanks to this forum, but I'm very much an amatuer with tile and tubs !!

We have standing water in the corner of our tub...I colored some water and took a picture of it. It's been there for years in a 1987-built house. It's a metal / porcelain tub. Even quality caulk doesn't stay put (of course.)
I do not want to tear into this wall as we are happy with the tile. I'm looking for ideas to solve it; here are some of our own ideas -some good, some bad..

1) Leave it alone, but re-caulk with good marine grade silicone or 3M 5200.

2) Cut access hole in adjacent wall (the room behind the END of the tub is a walk-in closet - I cannot get to the "5-foot wall") I could get to the low corner and hammer in a prop-up, as I just need to get about 3/8 inch higher. The tile is well above the tub edge - I would just need to remove any grout or caulk, so the tub can move a little.

3) Buy a corner mount ceramic soap dish at HD or Lowes. Carefully cut off any protrusions, so I can mortor or silicone it right down on the wet corner, but I could make sure to leave the right tilt for water run-off. I could do the same with a coordinating color of marble or something similar - I would cut the outer edge of a square tile at 45 degrees so it looks good.

I welcome your thoughts... Thanks, Dave

Sponsored Links

cx
01-30-2011, 08:06 AM
Welcome, Dave. :)

Aside from changing out the tub, I doubt you'll be able to do much of a fix. Three eighths of an inch is a very long way to move a tub edge.

I'd recommend hanging a dedicated hand towel on a nearby rack and removing that water after each shower.

My opinion; worth price charged.

Houston Remodeler
01-30-2011, 09:23 AM