Simon's tub/shower surround [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Simon's tub/shower surround

Simon in AK
01-07-2011, 12:23 AM
First Post- thanks to all who contribute to making this a very helpful and encouraging site. I've enjoyed browsing around and have learned plenty, but still have some Q's specific to installing Rondec, and other details.

Quick intro, I'm in a new home, about to tile a three-sided tub/ shower surround in the master bath. It's straightforward enough, except for two niches in the end wall. I'm pretty handy with DIY and home-improvement, but this is my first time with tile. I've read up online quite a bit, read Michael Byrne's book, and hit up some friends for advice and quality tools for the project. Right now I'm mostly concerned about getting all my ducks in a row before I start committing to stuff which could be a PITA to undo if it doesn't go right the first time.

Installed Substrate is 5/8" DuRock covered with RedGuard. Tile is Statements "Sites" by Provenza porcelain tile, all in 12" field tiles. Thinset will be Mapei Ultralight Lightweight Tile Morter w/ Polymer. Tec grout with liquid latex additive, and color-matched silicone. 1/8" grout joint. Environment is interior Alaska, with seismic considerations and also the potential for severe temperature ranges.

Because of the 12" field tiles and the dimensions of the niches, I will have to deal with both factory and cut tile edges on outside corners. I got some anodized aluminum Schluter Rondec in order to deal with this. I also got a good selection of the inside and outside rondec corner pieces.