Shower tile spacing and best plan of attack? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Shower tile spacing and best plan of attack?

radtexas
10-21-2010, 05:44 AM
Starting the tear out of my old fiberglass shower this weekend and going back with the kerdi system and tile. I am new to tile and plan on putting a 2x2 moasaic ribbon 4" tall all around the shower walls. See image attached for my idea.

My question is, I assume you would want the solid pieces up top as shown and you cut pieces on the bottom. This may be a stupid question but is there an easy way to do this? I don't see starting at the ribbon and working down. Do you just have to take very good measurements and figuring and cut the bottom piece to fit and work up? Sounds right but if I am off a little is will throw my niche out as I want the ribbon to run on top & bottom of the niche.

Am I worrying to much over a simple solution?

Sponsored Links

DonChi
10-21-2010, 05:51 AM
What a beautiful design...........good luck with your project.

scuttlebuttrp
10-21-2010, 05:57 AM
So you have 2 listello bands running horizontally top and bottom of the niche and you want to know how to figure out the size of the cut on the 18"(?) field tile at the bottom of the shower?
You can either measure very carefully and cross your fingers; or most people will use a board at the bottom to hold up the bottom full tile and install the cut afterward. Some just nail it up and Kerdifix the holes afterward, others stack stuff under the board to hold it up so there's no nails.

radtexas
10-21-2010, 06:25 AM
The wall tiles are 13x13. floor tiles will be the same 2x2's as the ribbon.

Stacking idea sounds like a good idea.