Between a Rock and a Hard Spot. [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Between a Rock and a Hard Spot.

scttile
06-07-2010, 05:57 PM
I have found myself in a very undesirable position. A flooring store has contacted me about a travertine install on a job that is ready to go next week. I have never worked for this store before as the owner and his sons usually install their tile. He's running behind and needs to pass this one on. Here's the catch. The tile to be installed is 1200 sq.ft. on the main floor of the house. Mostly through the foyer, great room, and kitchen. (All connected) The flooring system is 3/4" OSB over a 3 1/2" Floor truss system that is spaced 16" on center. The span is about 10 to 12 ft between supporting beams. The GC and the homeowner both went to the tile distributer's showroom to pick out the tile. The owner of the flooring store went as well. The salesman at the distributer assured the group that they would be fine to just use Ditra installed directly over the OSB since they were concerned about the transitions to other flooring. The travertine is 1/2" thick brushed and chiseled with a 4 size pattern, the biggest is 16x24.

Unless I'm really missing something this sounds like a big mistake. Am I correctly reading the Ditra instructions that require an extra 3/8" layer of plywood to be added? The flooring store says go ahead and lay it, and they will sign off. I'm not too comfortable with that idea, but I need the work but not a lawsuit. WHAT DO YOU DO???:shrug: Should I run?

Sponsored Links

silvercitytile
06-07-2010, 06:02 PM
put it in writting eric. that you are not held responsable

lasvegaslenny
06-07-2010, 07:01 PM
I think Bill Vincent made the point that getting a document "signed off" is basically saying that "yes I will install in a manner that I know is not correct as long as your ok with it" and that in court this can be used as an argument against you....just saying.