Tiling a shower [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Tiling a shower

Minaz
02-19-2010, 01:56 PM
Hi everyone

I am new at tilling and now i think i have totally over analyzed the project to the point that i am almost paralyzed to start...Anyways here are my questions and any help will be greatly appreciated...thanks

I am using a 3X6 subway brown subway tile in a brick pattern. The shower base is a ready made acrylic base.

Questions:
1. How thick should i make my grout lines, 1/8 or 1/16? If 1/16 can i use sanded grout or i have to use unsanded?

2. How should i do the inside corner of the shower. Should i tile the side all the way to the back wall and then butt up the back wall tile to the side wall? What about a grout line? should i leave the a gap for the grout line. Should i grout or should i just caulk?

3. Should the last row come all the way down to the bottom of the flange of the shower base or should there be a gap there? if there is a gap there, should i just fill it with caulking?

Thanks for all your help

Sponsored Links

Kman
02-19-2010, 02:15 PM
1. How thick should i make my grout lines, 1/8 or 1/16? If 1/16 can i use sanded grout or i have to use unsanded?

The subway tile I've used has built in spacers to set the tile at 1/16". That's probably the most common spacing, but you can make it larger if you want.

2. How should i do the inside corner of the shower. Should i tile the side all the way to the back wall and then butt up the back wall tile to the side wall? What about a grout line? should i leave the a gap for the grout line. Should i grout or should i just caulk?

Best way is to do the back wall first then the side walls cut up to it. That way the cut edge of the tile is not as visible. Leave about 1/16" gap. Standards say to caulk this joint, but many just grout it. If you do caulk it, us a silicone-based caulk. The latex acrylic caulks usually won't hold up the moisture.