Why tile the ceiling [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Why tile the ceiling

cul8rkid
02-16-2010, 08:19 PM
Newbie here, great site. Demo'd my bathroom to the studs, installed shower pan and plumbing completed, my contractor inlaw completed drywall and framed shower, he explained I should tile my shower ceiling because it is only an eight foot shower. This shower will not have a door and will have about a 1 foot escape root for steam above the curtain. My tile guy says it doesn't need to be tiled and is reluctant to do it (is he lazy or maybe doesn't want to do it?). Money is not an issue but do you guys know what I should do? Is moisture the problem, is esthetics the issue or is it just preference? Thanks
!

Sponsored Links

Brian in San Diego
02-16-2010, 08:28 PM
Mickey,

Welcome to the John Bridge Forums! You've come to the right place to get an opinion because we are full of them here. I guess you could say we have an opinion and you're entitled to all of them.

I am presuming this is a standard shower not a steam shower, correct? If so, tiling the ceiling is a matter of personal preference. Some do it, some don't. I tiled up to the ceiling and stopped. Joe, one of the other moderators, tiled his. If you elect to paint the ceiling use a high gloss enamel and you won't have any problems with moisture.

Brian

jgleason
02-16-2010, 08:30 PM
Hi Mickey,

Strictly preference, if you want it tiled then your tile person should accomodate you.

Personally, I like having the walls tiled right up to the ceiling and the ceiling tiled too.

Brian in San Diego
02-16-2010, 08:32 PM
See, I told you Joe liked tiled ceilings! How did he know I mentioned him? He must have some kind of alert on his computer whenever his name is mentioned on the forum.

jgleason
02-16-2010, 08:35 PM
Yep, I'm watching you Brian. :shades:

:D

tileguynky
02-16-2010, 08:41 PM