Grout colors versus caulk colors [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Grout colors versus caulk colors

Hubitom
09-14-2009, 04:29 PM
Hey guys,

Newbie here. Found this forum by accident, and I have to say that there are a lot of nice people here trying to help others. I can't say that about all the forums that I visited (not necessarily tile related) and participated in.

Anywho, here's my question (and a little intro, off course). I just finished tiling my kitchen, and I grouted with Light Smoke from Polyblend. Off course Homer doesn't sell you nonsanded caulk versions, yet they have a large variety of matching grout colors (pretty much all missing their respective cailk colors). I found a store online that sells matching colors to TEC and PolyBlend grouts.

When looking at the samples that they sent I noticed that my finished grout (cured for over a week, sealed with TileLab Pro) looks significantly different than the sample (but it is evenly different, not just in spots).

I noticed the same with the grout that I used in my 2 bathrooms that I did a year or so ago. And there I used TEC Sandstone.

What really sticks out like a sore thumb is the difference in grout to the so called matching caulk (and in my bathrooms I used TEC matching caulk).

Now to my question. Should I select the caulk color that is supposedly the grout match, or should I try to use something that is closer to the actual color??? I want to get my caulk as close to my actaul grout color as possible.

Thanks.

Thomas

Sponsored Links

cx
09-14-2009, 04:46 PM
Welcome, Thomas. :)

It might be an exaggeration to say we've heard that complaint a thousand times hereabouts, but it would not be a gross exaggeration.

So, for you and all the lurkers out there, let me give you the absolute straight dope on the cause of that problem:

I dunno.