What constitutes a mortar failure? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : What constitutes a mortar failure?

scttile
05-06-2009, 06:50 AM
I was wondering how to tell if the mortar failed on a job versus an installation error. I've got a job that I laid 20" porcelian tile on a kitchen and laundry with Custom Building Products Complete Contact Mortar. I used a 3/4 moon trowel and followed their instructions on the bag to a "T". I have been setting tile for 7 years and have never had this issue. I spread out enough mortar for 2 tile at a time then set them and went to the next. My helper dried each tile after he cut them as well. I measure and mix each batch of my mortar as well.

Here's what I've got now. The job started releasing the tile from the mortar about 6 months after installation. The tile are coming up clean as a whistle. The imprint of the lugs on the back of the tile are left perfectly imprinted in the mortar on the floor. I had mortar coming up in the joints as I seated the tile as well. There is no sign of powder residue on the back of the tile either.

Where do I go from here? I've been told it is nearly impossible to win a claim against a mortar company, but I feel that I went by the book on this job. I would appreicate any feedback on the situation.

Eric

Sponsored Links

bbcamp
05-06-2009, 07:10 AM
Hi, Eric! Sorry about this mess. I moved you into the Pro's Hangout so the other pros can help figure this out.

You said the helper dried the the cut tiles, but did he wash and dry the whole tiles too? Did the cut tiles release the same as the whole tiles?

Have you contacted your local Custom's rep.?

Chad Deiter Construction
05-06-2009, 07:52 AM
Yah thats what I was thinking also how thick was you thinset. I know you said you followed their directions but if it was too thick that doesn't help either. :(

idtileguy
05-06-2009, 07:55 AM
Dosen't sound like you back buttered the tile.:bonk:

The Kid