Mortar Beds: thickness and bond [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Mortar Beds: thickness and bond

saiello
08-19-2008, 02:11 PM
Hello Tile Forum!

Newbie here. Just discovered this resource today. Fantastic clearing house for practical advice. I've been in architecture and construction since 1991 and have designed, cut, and thinset up to 3/8" floor and wall tile remodeling my home in the past. But i have no direct experience designing or installing mortar beds on any of my past projects. I'm detailing the floor assemblies now.

I’ve reviewed both the TCNA Handbook and Dimension Stone Design Manual, done some web research, and consulted Architectural Graphic Standards. None of which gave me a satisfactory answer. So, I figured I'd post for forum input on good installation practices.

This is a new construction hotel located on a deserted island in the Carribean, so it will be subject to wet and hurricane conditions and the labor may or may not be well-skilled even though imported to the site. My questions are:

• Mortar bed maximum thickness – What is the practical upper limit? the TCNA says that anything greater than the recommended 2” maximum thickness should be detailed by architect (!). We have an exterior balcony condition where the structural slab slopes ¼”/foot and the finish stone tile slopes 1/8”/foot, so the mortar bed would thicken as it gets closer to the balcony edge. The interior and exterior finish floors are flush, requiring the mortar bed to be 1-1/2” at the thin side at the door and 3” at the thick side at the balcony edge. I have other options to reduce the thickness at the edge but wanted to get some real world input on mortar bed limits before pursuing them.