Grout cracked....Possible Deflec./Subfloor problem... [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Grout cracked....Possible Deflec./Subfloor problem...

raiders510
07-24-2008, 09:14 PM
Hey guys. Long time watcher, first time poster.

I have been installing tile for over 2 years now as an apprentice. I bagged a condo renovation project and just about completed the first phase. I have been removing the old subfloors and installing new subfloors. I used to be in home renovations and I have laid many subfloors, but never tiled over them until recently. So with that said, let me describe my problem..

I was walking through about 10-15 units to make sure my installations were still holding up as they should be, when I noticed a couple of units with grout cracking in exactly the same place in a couple of different units in the front entrance. I was quite bewildered as I have not seen any problem like this in any of my installations before. The front entrances are about 37 inches wide, and slightly less than 10 feet long. As soon as you walk in the entrance, the tile begins and there is stairs going up at the end. I sorta scratched my head and tried to think of a cause where I could only come up with one explanation...