other shower pan possibilities? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : other shower pan possibilities?

lcmon
06-07-2008, 12:28 PM
I am a new contractor with over 13 yrs experience with masonry & tile. I've been researching the best way to build shower pans. Although everything I've read insists on using a vynal liner, I have talked to a well respected tile setter here who swears by his technique of using ultra set on the first sloped morter bed, right to the weeps. He claims that he has replaced old pans with traditional liners and they were brital, and cracked. I know most will disagree with this method, as did I. He started to sell me on it though. He has done a lot of research on ultra set. Any comments?

Sponsored Links

Shaughnn
06-07-2008, 01:17 PM
Hello lcmon,
I've not used it, but I'm wondering how much you actually save by doing it this way? Time? The Ultra-Set has to cure. Money? Ultra-Set's not THAt cheap. Does your local inspector sign off on Ultra-Set? Many won't. What sort of a warranty can you get from Bostik? How will you bridge the drain-to-mortar gap to prevent movement from compromising the Ultra-Set envelope?
Too many variables for me to feel comfortable with. I know of other installers who've used Ultra-Set in this manner. I won't take the chance of failure in a clients home though.
As an aside, if the liner was brittle as your installer describes, then there's a chemical incompatibility issue occurring. I'd look at the chance that PVC glue was used on a CPE membrane, or vice-versa. Ask your installer if the "brittle" areas were at seams or in the wide-open field? If it's not a solvent issue, then it's likely some other chemical exposure prior to the final mortar being applied. I've never heard of a PVC or CPE membrane becoming "brittle" without something like this occurring.
Shaughnn

e3
06-07-2008, 01:18 PM
Chloraloy since 1964..never seen a piece go bad,has life time warrenty..