Vapor Barrier in showers? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Vapor Barrier in showers?

aeronutt
09-23-2001, 10:21 PM
I'm installing a shower completely from scratch in my basement. 2X4 studs, 1/2 inch durarock, then 8x10 wall tiles. Is there any need to put a vapor barrier layer between the studs and durarock or does the tile do all the vapor barrier work for me?

Sponsored Links

Rob Z
09-23-2001, 10:39 PM
Hi Aeronutt

Yes, the vapor barrier is needed in addition to the tile and cement board. You can use 6 mil poly or 15 pound roofing paper as a vapor barrier.

You will also want to seal the bottom edge of the cement board will silicone to prevent wicking.

What do you do in the USAF?

Rob

aeronutt
09-24-2001, 05:32 AM
Thanks Rob, I will do the poly method since I've got lots of that laying around.

I'm a computer programmer. Mostly Oracle DBA type work, but I've done just about everything else too.

John Bridge
09-24-2001, 05:47 AM
Welcome aboard. May we have your first name?

The folks here will give you everything you need to complete your shower in a first class fashion.

As an old Army veteran, I want to personally thank you for serving in the Armed Forces (even if it is the AF :D)

Thank You.

aeronutt
09-25-2001, 09:49 PM
Thanks for the welcome John. My name is Ron and I've had the pleasure of working with many soldiers in my years of fighting wars. In spite of our good natured inter-service rivalry, we've always managed to get the missions accomplished (We drop bombs, you catch bullets :-)