Does my tile guy kno what he is doing?? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Does my tile guy kno what he is doing??

pat866
05-31-2007, 03:19 PM
Hi All! I'm a newbie here.

I have been working on my attic addition, which includes a full bathroom, and decided not to attempt the shower pan and tile job because I have family coming into town next week and I just don't have time to get it done before they arrive. I have two friends that are general contractors (both are very well respected and build beautiful, multi-million dollar mansions) and they both referred me to their tile guy. He came over today and installed three stacked 2x4's for the curb for my nea-angle shower and then he painted over it and the floor with Hydro-Guard 2000. When I asked about the next steps involved he said he plans to put the 40mil liner over the Hydro-Guard and then fill in the sloped mortar bed over it. He said I do not need the metal lathe because of the mud he uses. The tile would then be installed over the sloped mortar bed. Is this ok, or should I have him build a sloped mortar bed with the wire lathe first, then the 40mil liner, followed by a layer of mud, and then the tile?

Sponsored Links

pat866
05-31-2007, 03:25 PM
I looked in the garage at the bags of mud he left and it is Bonsal Floor Mud. Not sure if this helps RE my question about needing the wire lathe.

Davy
05-31-2007, 03:34 PM
Yes, you want a preslope under your shower pan. Alot of guys don't install them, they don't see the importance in it.

I would staple down felt paper and lath first, then the mud. :)

sportskid1
05-31-2007, 03:35 PM
I am no expert here but you definatly need a presloped bed under the liner or the water that gets under the tiles will never get to the drain. Not sure about the wire lathe or not. Hopefully someone who knows what they are taking about will give you a better answer.

pat866
05-31-2007, 04:11 PM