1 girl + cracked slab + 600 sq. ft. of 18x18 travertine = [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : 1 girl + cracked slab + 600 sq. ft. of 18x18 travertine =

GaArmyWife
04-05-2007, 02:05 PM
LOTS OF QUESTIONS!
Here is my situation in a nutshell: I have the majority of the first floor to tile. Two flooded toilets and two ruined Pergo floors later ... I will not put down another disposable floor again. I am on a very tight budget, as my 36 yr old husband has decided to join the Army. :usflag: It is me, two kids, two dogs and lots of bare concrete! I am not afraid of the work, I was a designer for many years. Point me to the right tools and I'll do just about anything. Last week I reframed a door jamb, so please don't tell me to just hire someone. :p
The slab is 9 yrs. old. This is Ga., so the temperature extremes are minimal compared to those up north. There are three areas of concern.
1> a 1/4" crack running north/south for the width of one room (in plane)
2> a hairline crack running east/west across half the length of the same room (in plane)
3> when the Pergo came up, I discovered that whatever was used to level the Pergo by the last contractor had buckled, grown mold and made a big mess. I pulled up most of this, although the thinner areas seem to still be secure to the slab.
This seems to be the most helpful, friendly place around. :wave: Please chime in here and let me know if I am on the right path. I need to commit to something and get moving on this.

1: I figure that I need to address the buckled level compound area first. I can remove any potentially loose material and level quick the rest. That will likely leave a seam or overlap where the old compound and the level quick meet. Could this be a problem down the road?