Grout - uneven color [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Grout - uneven color

steidla
01-02-2007, 11:37 AM
I grouted my kitchen floor last night (13x13 porcelain tiles), and everything seemed to be going alright. When I got up this morning, the grout seemed to be all different shades. The grout is light brown, and there were areas of different light browns and dark browns, and even a couple areas where it looked kind of white.

Does anyone have any advice on this? I am worried!

Sponsored Links

dl
01-02-2007, 12:25 PM
It may be that your batches weren't mixed the same, but give it a few days before you get worried - some grouts dry unevenly at first then eventually even out.

- DL

jonka
01-03-2007, 12:34 AM
I have been setting tile for about 5 yrs now and it seems that about every 3rd job or so I have the same problem with grout discoloration. I have switched to a latex admix and had better results (most of the time) but I have tried everything to remedy this problem. All batches are measured consistantly. I usually wait 45min - 1 hr before cleaning. I clean parallel to the joint not diagonally as after an hour diagonally doesnt clean. Sponge is as dry as possible. The only thing I dont do is cover the floor and mist with water for 2 days. But who does that anymore?

Its discouraging to see a nice tile job ruined by uneven grout color.

in2tile
01-03-2007, 09:35 PM
i feel your pain, just finished 2 jobs with same results!!
plus countlesss other times ive had grout problems,
if i hear one more tip on how dry my sponge should be or if i slaked grout properly,or did i damp cure,,bla bla bla..
all i know is ever since porcelain tile came about,thats when my problems came about.
how in the hell else can you clean off residue from these pitted.rustic,chisled.chainsawed whatever ya wanna call em tiles.
sorry for venting, had real bad day, and this just set me off.