Bathroom Floor and Shower Questions [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Bathroom Floor and Shower Questions

kbeau
10-15-2006, 08:37 AM
Hello, my name is Ken and this is my first post, but I've been all over this forum looking for answers. I'm sure the answers to my questions are already in here, but I'd like some opinions on my particular installation. Any help is much appreciated.

I have zero tile experience, but lots of time. I've remodeled most of the basement and have been working on the bathroom for about a month now. I made it a little bigger and added a shower, but my first question is about the bathroom floor outside of the shower.

Most of the bathroom is raised off the concrete slab by about 7 1/2 ": 2x4's laid flat with 2X6 joists and 1/2 inch plywood on top. The joists are spaced no more than 16" oc and are about 5' long. The bathroom is 5'X9' mostly, but is narrower near the door. All the wood appears to be solid. From the top of the plywood to the sheetrock (greenboard) ceiling is only 81 1/2 inches. Making the height problem worse, the far side of the room (5' x 26") is raised an additional 2 inches. This was to give the toilet the height required to drain directly. This last 26 inches is joisted perpendicular to the rest of the bathroom with 2x4's, also 16"oc, with various support underneath.

Most of the floor, as I've described it, was pre-existing. The walls had been 3/8" plywood, but I took that out, added some studding, and installed the greenboard. (I don't intend to tile the walls, except in the shower, where I'll use CBU.) I also added some floor joists for the added shower and adjacent area.