Master shower questions (long with pics) [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Master shower questions (long with pics)

tsbrewers
10-13-2006, 04:02 PM
Hey, I am finally going to tackle the master shower in our new home. I am going to go with the kerdi system and had some questions. These first questions are more along the lines of design, and general opinion questions.

I am looking for some design questions, I have no imagination, but being a carpenter I can pretty much build anything. So I have a clean slate, someone tell me what to do with it. :) My shower recess is a basic 3' deep, 4'-7"' wide, and 9' tall. Just keep in mind I do have a budget. :(

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2004-8/806564/showerfront.jpg

My first idea was to build a half wall on the right side with a glass panel and glass door like this,

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2004-8/806564/showerfrontdoor.jpg

couple things with this though. 9' celings make it seem wide open above, plus taking a shower would be cold since it is wide open.

My next thought is something like this. basically build a wall all the way, and put an opening in it for a regular door.

http://crlaurence.com/adv/gallery/in_SC05.jpg

I do like it completely enclosed this this, but again the 9' would be very high when you are in the shower. Would I be better off putting a drop ceiling in at 8' or so? I also have a recessed light in the shower. It does have a wet area type of baffle on it, but if I enclose the shower completely it will get A LOT of steam up around it.

also if I do enclose the shower completely do I need to tile to the ceiling and the ceiling?

I will stop here, and ask more specific questions once i decide which way to go. I know that this is all a personal choice, but I would like some that have been here to let me know which way they think is best because of ........ Thanks,

Brew

Sponsored Links

howgil
10-13-2006, 04:14 PM
Hi Brew,