What is mud setting and how do I do it [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : What is mud setting and how do I do it

blackharted11
10-10-2006, 12:10 AM
Hello all,

I am new to the forums and have a question .... I have been tiling for a few years now and just started my own businees.... I was asked by a new client of mine to do a Mud set on his 18" x 18" Travetine tile.
Now i have never done a mud set before and need to know what it is and how do I go about doing it......Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links

John Corley
10-10-2006, 12:25 AM
Howdy Blackheart

Got a first name? One of the moderators will probably move this into the "Hangout" but I will fill you in in the meantime.

Say you are going over a slab.

1. Smear thinset onto the slab
2. I use kind of a wetter drypack for this, build up a nice mudbed (heighth will be part of the job constraints)
3. Then I will select a dummy tile, use a rubber mallet to tap it into place )
mayby a 64th low ( to allow for the backbutter)
4. Pull the dummy, and then install a "backbuttered" tile. Should tap right in.

Very important to get 100% coverage with your mud and thinset or you will get hollow sounding ones.

there are many ways to insure that you stay flat and level.

Hope this helps.

tileguytodd
10-10-2006, 08:00 AM
Hmmmmmmm............If you have never done any Mudsetting, An 18x 18 Travertine is NOT the way to start IMHO.

If you want to learn about Mudwork, I would reccomend getting over to Amazon.com and Buying the book "Ceramic Tile Setting" By John Bridge.

This will give you alot of Basic information that you are going to need plus some advanced tips and tricks. His Newer Book covers newer techniques but this Older book is a good one for MUDWORK.

Outside of actually working with a seasoned Mudman, this is going to be the best way to get a good jumpstart on your education.