Steam Shower help needed [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Steam Shower help needed

foolatty
10-05-2006, 01:56 PM
I have been reading this site for the past few days and it is great! I am not a professional tile installer just a DIY'er. I am installing a steam shower in a master bath addition to my home. My municipality does not allow sheetrock to be used as a backer for any tiled surfaces and I will be using 1/2" wonderboard on the walls and ceiling with a glass door/transom combo. My question relates to vapor and waterproofing.

I planned on using Kerdi but it is quite expensive. Also given that I am using Wonderboard I don't know if Kerdi is overkill/unnecessary. The Laticrete website claims it is suitable for steam showers when using a vapor barrier behind the CBU. Has anyone done this and, if so, how did it work out? I don't want a lot of steam trapped in the walls. I was planning on using poly over the wall studs, then the wonderboard, then the Laticrete waterproofer. I am using a solid surface shower pan with a built in tile ledge so I can run the poly sheet down into the pan and cut it off.

My other question relates to insulation. The steam shower is on the second floor and its ceiling will have to be insulated. What about the other three walls? Should I insulate those and, if so, with or without the paper vapor backing on?

Thanks for any help/insights anyone can provide.

Sponsored Links

JTG
10-05-2006, 02:33 PM
Welcome
Do you have a first name for us? We all like to be freinds and don't want to refer to you as Fool.
I would insulate all the walls and use the poly vapor barrier. I have used the Latacrete 9??? stuff often but never for a steam shower. I'm sure that it will be fine. I do think though that when you look at the price of a five gallon pail of the stuff and the fabric the price might be more than a Kerdi Kit.