ceramic floor tile layout [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : ceramic floor tile layout

Matt
08-27-2001, 05:39 PM
This is my first attempt at laying ceramic floor tile. I'm getting ready to lay 12" ceramic tile in my 8x10 sunroom. I have the surface prepared and the tile purchased but am unsure about how to arrange the tile. I've narrowed the layout down to two options, which you can view at http://www.oberlebotanical.com/test/tile.html
I would really appreciate your input on this (option #1 ir #2, or....have a better idea?)

Unnecessary background information: The original floor was 5/8" particle board, on which the previous owners had safety orange-colored shag carpeting (blech) which I promply tore out. I was concerned about the floor flexing and the particle board swelling so I screwed down a layer of 3/8" exterior plywood on top, perpendicular to the particle board sheets. That really helped make the floor rigid, but then a buddy talked me into adding "WonderBoard", 1/4" fiberglass-reinforced concrete sheets. I layed the WonderBoard on thin-set mortar (1/4" tile notches) and screwed it down (perpendicular again). I filled the joints between the WonderBoard with thinset, sanded the joints smooth and level, then taped each joint with meshed fiberglass tape. The floor is pretty darn solid now and I think I'm ready to lay tile (many man-hours and $$ later).

I cut an oak threshold (1/2" thick, 5-1/2" wide) to go up against the sliding glass patio doors. I will secure it first (before the tile) on a bed of thin set mortar and secure it with 2" #12 brass screws (countersunk). Before I attach the threshold I'll finish it with light colored shellac and then a coat of clear satin polyurethane.

Sponsored Links

Rob Z
08-27-2001, 06:21 PM
Hi Matt

I prefer option one, since it doesn't leave less-than-half tiles in the layout.

Rob

LDavis
08-27-2001, 07:02 PM