Pepto Bismol Pink Tile [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Pepto Bismol Pink Tile

msgypsylee
05-18-2006, 03:04 PM
I bought a house built in 1955 with the ugliest pepto bismol pink tile ever. Its on the floor and half way up the walls that extends at least an inch out from the wall. I really want this tile gone. I want to just retile the bathtub area and put in a new floor. I'm totally new to this type of project. Any suggestions on how to remove this old tile? Are there any concerns I need to be aware of (toxins etc)? Any advice would be most appreciated. It's driving me crazy :bonk:

Thanks,

Sarah

Sponsored Links

bathroomremodeler
05-18-2006, 04:25 PM
Sarah,

Asbestos would be the only toxin I feel you would have to be concerned with. I believe that the ceramic tiles are safe, but some plaster, board and glue contained asbestos.

Do a search on the Internet and if you feel safe in removing the tiles ... a chisel and hammer are the simple tools to removing tile.

When you remove the tile, most likely you will find that you will need to replace or repair the material that the tile was glued to.

It is not a small project. My suggestion is get to know what could be involved first ... you may decide that pink is not all that bad :rofl:

Dean

FLWing
05-18-2006, 04:56 PM
Wow, I wished I was that lucky. I recently needed to replace the fixture on my Mother's bath and she had that same tile....quite popular in the mid to late 50's, for sure. Anyway, although I didn't like the color I wanted to find 1 s/f of them to replace the ones destroyed in the repair...no such luck. I couldn't find ANY! Too bad you weren't doing the remodel then, or I'd have begged a few from 'ya!!! :tup1:

If you're lucky You'll find they were installed over a mudbed with very good craftmanship...not easy to tear out. At least asbestos isn't a factor in that event.

Be sure to wear good eye protection and gloves - it can be hazardous.

jdm