Remove and Reuse [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Remove and Reuse

jspencer
08-07-2001, 03:51 PM
Some tiles have fallen off my bath room wall, and I've just discovered that the previous owner did not keep 10% behind and that the tile range has been discontinued.

Good News

I've found tiles where they won't be missed (behind the medicine cabinet).

Bad News

They're on cement.

Even Worse News

I'm a DIY novice.

Is there anyone brave enough to give advice to this DIY novice?

Sponsored Links

Rob Z
08-07-2001, 04:03 PM
js

I've never tried to salvage tiles like this. John or bud may have. They'll be along in a bit.

Rob

Bud Cline
08-07-2001, 04:13 PM
"You in big trouble Joey".

Understand there are no guarantees here but it appears you may be desperate, so try this, I said "try".

Behind your medicine cabinet remove the grout between the tiles with a grout removal tool available at most hardware stores, go as deep between the tiles as you possibly can, you must relieve the pressure you are going to create while removing the tiles.

Then, carefully break out one tile (I'm assuming your talking about four inch tile) just bust it out of there, this is a calculated sacrifice.

Then using a 3 inch scraper/putty knife, the heavy duty type, wedge this scraper between a tile and the wall and tap the putty knife with a hammer hoping for the adhesive to seperate and give up before the tile does. Be ready to catch the tile before it falls to the floor and you have two sacrificial tiles.

We don't know if your adhesive is thinset or mastic, hopefully mastic. I also assume your walls are made of sheetrock. You may suck a big divit in the sheetrock but not to worry, we can fix that too.

Go for it.

kalford
08-07-2001, 04:22 PM
jc,