Tile on concrete [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Tile on concrete

spark chaser
08-03-2001, 08:22 AM
I have read as many posts about tile on concrete as I can find. I have a basic question.

On a 1 year old slab, what do I have to do to install ceramic tile on the concrete? The slab is smooth and level (within under 1/4 inch across 8 feet), no cracks in the area at this time. Going to try to tile 60 square feet.

I bought several books, and they all instruct me to lay down a plastic (?) membrane before I lay the tile. To me, this would cause the tile to not be firmly bonded to the floor, and would cause the thinset and grout to crack.

I know if the slab cracks under the tile, any tile bonded to the concrete will also crack.

I make my living with dykes, strippers and crimpers, this floor laying is new to me. If it were not my floor, I would tell the customer to call a pro.

Sponsored Links

John Bridge
08-03-2001, 01:16 PM
Hi Sparky,

I don't know which books you read, but it is not necessary to lay down a crack isolation membrane if the slab is in good shape. It would not be a bad idea, though.

I think if I were you, I would just use a good polymer modified thin set and let it go at that. 60 square feet is really not much of a gamble.

What part of the world do you live in?

Bud Cline
08-03-2001, 03:00 PM
OK here I go....."fools rush in where wise men fear to tread".

Given the perameters established within your statement above chaser ole boy, I have two questions: 1.) What the hell is a "crimper"? (and) 2.) Am I going to be really sorry I asked after I find out?

John Bridge
08-03-2001, 04:01 PM
Bud,

Sparks (electrician), dykes (electrical pliars/side cutters), strippers (not the kind you like), crimpers (as in crimping thingies on wires?)

Bud Cline
08-03-2001, 04:25 PM
"SHEESCH" that's a relief, I thought you were going to have to start yet another forum and hurry up about it.