Best Tile underlayment [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Best Tile underlayment

RJeffs
07-01-2002, 04:49 PM
I'm a very novice tile layer(a couple of small projects is all) and I'm getting ready to tile about 600 square feet of floor in a new home I'm building. I've used Duroc before and wasn't overly impressed. What is the best backer board/underlayment for a novice tile layer for use on a 5/8" plywood subfloor over 16" O.C. Joists over a basement? Are Hardibacker or Denshield any good? I've heard good things about Ditra, is it worth the added cost?

Much thanks for any help.

Sponsored Links

Rob Z
07-01-2002, 05:46 PM
Hello, and welcome to the forum

I now use Ditra on all floors that don't get floated with mud. Many of the other guys around here are partial to it, too.

I think it is a well designed product with a good track record. Ordering by the roll should make it quite cost effective. If I had to drive nails over 600 feet of cement board, I would give up.

The analysis of whether ditra is OK for you sitution depends on many things, including joist size and span. Let's start with those measurements.

tileguytodd
07-01-2002, 05:56 PM
Ditra hmmmmmm Oh Andy, Andy Acker, where are you,call me please so i can shame you (rob told me too) :D

John Bridge
07-01-2002, 06:03 PM
Hi RJ, Welcome.

I can't add much at this point. I'll wait for the answers to Rob's questions. I will say I'm sold on Ditra.

Hey Todd,

Maybe we're gonna hafta go to the top. Let's email Herr Schluter! :D

Ich kann klein Deutsch sprechen.

larrybunt
07-01-2002, 07:32 PM
Well, I'm a novice tile setter and I love the ditra. I have used the hardi-backer before, but prefer the Ditra anyday over the durock.

.......Larry

Mike Berry
07-02-2002, 01:03 AM