Direction to install hardwood floors [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Direction to install hardwood floors

dotnetweb
05-18-2005, 12:40 AM
I am ready to install some hardwood floors in my house and am new to this kind of project. As one enters my house there is a long narrow hallway which leads opens up to a kitchen and even bigger living area. See attached picture. I don't know if in the hallway I should lay the planks lengthwise or widthwise across the hallway? What are the rules for this? THANKS

Sponsored Links

NG
05-18-2005, 07:05 AM
i'm no pro, but i think you should run your planks lengthwise down the hall.

jay f
05-18-2005, 07:11 AM
For best results, The hardwood should be laid perpendicular or on a diagonal to the joists. If run in the same direction as the joists, the floor will be much wavyier as well as much weaker.

Mike2
05-18-2005, 07:12 AM
If you are installing a nail-down tongue and groove solid wood floor then the boards should be laid across (perpendicular to) the floor joists or at a 45 deg. angle.

Edit P.S. Oops, I see fast typer Jay beat me to the punch. What Jay says

justin savage
05-18-2005, 07:02 PM
what direction are your joists running?what is the subfloor made of and the thickness?what type of flooring is going to put down? justin savage

michaelhazuka
05-18-2005, 07:16 PM
I agree with what everyone has posted...your joist direction dictates the direction of your hardwood. You must always install perpendicular to the joist direction, or install the hardwood on an angle(with the exception of herringbone or other patterns).

I saw a couple hardwood jobs installed with the joists, and you could see the undulations in the floor between the joists. You will never correct that problem.

Chris McNeal
05-18-2005, 10:24 PM