Pregnant and still tiling [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Pregnant and still tiling

kquilts
03-23-2005, 09:54 PM
Is there any aspect of tiling that I should not do while pregnant? We just found out tonight. Our son is 8 and we had given up on having another child. I want to finish tiling but don't want to hurt the baby in any way. Thanks for the advice. Karen

Sponsored Links

tilesnake
03-23-2005, 10:01 PM
Don't mistake the thinset for a choclate milkshake! :moon: :loaded:

Hamilton
03-23-2005, 10:06 PM
Im no doctor soooo.... i would describe the pysical aspects as well as the
chemicals you may be exposed to, to your doctor and take his advice.
As a tile contractor knowing what im exposed to i would say leave it alone,
dont chance it. your doctor may say use a dust mask the excercise is good for
you, who knows,.. ask the doc :D Did i mention im a father of 3, id never let
my wife around the stuff i work with while she was pregnant. :)

tilesnake
03-23-2005, 10:20 PM
I'm with Jack. All sorts of nasties in the tile game. :)

jjwq8
03-23-2005, 11:13 PM
OK guys fess up. How many of you have tiled and been pregnant at the same? How many have chosen to tile rather than be around pregnancy? How many have thought pregnancy better than tiling?

And congratulations Karen:D

Eric Philson
03-23-2005, 11:28 PM
I don't know, but I'm pretty confidant that there are some aspects of pregnancy that you shouldn't do while tiling. :D

Shaughnn
03-23-2005, 11:29 PM
hi Karen,
I'm no doctor either but here's a short list of hazzards that you might encounter and want to avoid because you are pregnant:
Solvent fumes
Electircution or shock
Lower-back strain
Abdominal compression from squatting, kneeling and bending
toilet dismantled when your bladder kicks into overdrive