Some Red Guard Questions of My Own [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Some Red Guard Questions of My Own

FORMIA
01-28-2005, 09:00 AM
Hi everyone,
My husband and I are total newbies at tiling, so we are very glad to have discovered your forum. We had planned just to retile our bathroom floor and replace our fixtures, but apparently we are also retiling our tub surround. When we removed our old bathtub, we discovered the previous tile experts had tiled directly onto sheetrock, which needless to say was rotten all the way through. We stripped everything down to the studs and put up hardibacker -- no moisture barrier because a former contractor said we didn't need one... After reading here, I went out and bought Red Guard. My questions are:
1. When mortaring and taping the joints, do we put the tape into the wet mortar or put it on after it dries? (permission to laugh at the newbie :) ) If after, do we have to wait a full 24 hours?
2. How long after taping and mortaring the joints can we apply Red Guard?
3. What do you use to measure the thickness of the Red Guard?
4. It says on it that it contains chemicals known by the state of California to cause cancer... I know California is extra-careful, but I'm assuming exposure to these chemicals is just during application? i.e. it's not going to in any way affect my baby when she's in the bath tub once tiling is done?
Thanks again for offering all this great advice to us amateurs!
Emily

Sponsored Links

FORMIA
01-28-2005, 11:18 AM
Here's what we found after removing the previous tile job... The sheet rock crumbled away pretty easily and we even had to remove some moldy insulation behind it.
Did I mention this is the only shower in the house? Help!

oogabooga
01-28-2005, 03:14 PM
Thought I'd reply because Redguard seems similar to the method I use here in NZ.