Hello everyone! [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone!

garytmib
11-25-2004, 07:59 AM
My name is Gary. I am currently reading tile your world and i am excited about my first tiling job. Since i am a newbie i would like to tell you a bit about myself. I am currently employed as a field machinist and have worked in this trade for 20 years. I will be layed off on Dec. 16th. Since i saw this coming i started a home maintenance and repair business in may. My business has been a big success and i believe it will support my family full time when i am laid off. I work alone and my focus has been small jobs that larger contractors have no interest in. I hope to add small tile jobs to my list of services. I will begin in my home with two small bath floors and a kitchen back splash. My biggest concern right now is tooling. Since i will not be doing tile full time i am not sure how much i should invest and what brands will serve me well. I am not afraid to spend the money. I just don't want to buy more than i need. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Gary :)

Sponsored Links

tileguytodd
11-25-2004, 08:25 AM
Gary, welcome aboard. I'm going to move you over to the Pro's Hangout where you will get a host of teachers to help you on your way.
Oh, and if i never have to do another backsplash remodel in my life it wouldnt bother me in the least ;)

tileguytodd
11-25-2004, 08:36 AM
Tile Tool Starter Kit for semi pro
Felker FTS-150 tilesaw
Rubi TS-30 tile cutter
4" side grinder and 4" diamond blade
Circular saw with 24 tooth carbide for CBU
Carbide tipped nipper
Trowels in 3/16" x 3/16" sq,1/4" V, 1/4" x 1/4" sq, 1/4" x 3/8" sq
Margin Trowel + various finish trowels
1/2" Variable speed Drill (Milwaukee)with cage or eggbeater mixer
3/8" hammer drill(milwaukee)
chalklines (2 colors)
Levels - Bullet,18" 30" 48" and 72"
Various handtools and chisels

Straightedge Screeds 1 set
Diamond drill bits.