What if I wanted to tile over acrylic shower/tub surround? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : What if I wanted to tile over acrylic shower/tub surround?

theduster
09-10-2004, 07:31 PM
Is it possible to tile over an acrylic shower/tub surround? Stick it on with Liquid Nails or some such thing? The acrylic is only a couple of years old---perfect shape. I'm a super newbie....but I just built a block and flagstone wall and firepit that hasn't fallen down in 3 (count 'em....THREE...windstorms).
Not bad for an old broad.

Thanks folks,

Kerry

Sponsored Links

Davestone
09-10-2004, 07:34 PM
If you're talking about tiling the whole tub, i wouldn't recommend it, it's not stable enough.But something tells me we haven't heard the last from you :)

theduster
09-10-2004, 08:56 PM
It's true Davestone....I have returned!

I was just hoping to tile the acrylic walls around the tub....not the tub itself.
Also the walls of the shower.

I live in Arizona. It is hot so we are all hibernating till the end of October.
While stuck inside one gets ideas for little projects. Some good, some not so good.

Thanks, Kerry

Mike2
09-10-2004, 09:27 PM
OK, I'll play devils advocate for Kerry - If thinset mortar will stick to glass, why not acrylic? Assuming of course this acrylic liner is not just hanging out on the wall, all loose and wobbly like. Clean it up real well and roughen it up some too. Never done it before but don't see why it wouldn't wurk.

Get ready for some action now Kerry. :nod: :D

muskymike
09-10-2004, 09:36 PM
Ok I'll play the devil. Is this a one piece shower? If not I would tear it out (the surround)and start fresh. Mike you do have a point though, thinset will stick to glass and most likely stick to the acrylic if it's ruffed up but how long will it stay on if the stuff flexes??

theduster
09-10-2004, 09:45 PM
It's not a one piece.