Over exposed aggregate [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Over exposed aggregate


Jake
08-15-2004, 02:09 PM
My wife wants tile on our screened in porch. The perimeter is brick w/a 12'x12' exposed concrete slab. Any special install issues? The concrete is fairly rough so the thinset will have to be 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick. Will this be ok?

Thanks in advance.

Jake

Sponsored Links


Airborne
08-15-2004, 10:29 PM
It sounds like you've got a pretty rough surface there, Jake. You might consider pouring some Self Leveling concrete over the exposed ag prior to installing your tile floor.

kurtafs
08-16-2004, 09:21 AM
If it were me I would use some sort of membrane for the istallation of tile over concrete. I also think you'll need some floor prep.

John Bridge
08-16-2004, 06:31 PM
Hi Jake. Welcome aboard. :)

I agree the slab should be smoothed out before you begin installing tile. When you say rough, what exactly do you mean? I wouldn't consider having to apply that much thin set in the course of setting the tiles.