Bathroom floor?? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Bathroom floor??

Durezza
08-05-2004, 12:47 PM
Found this site about a month ago. Its great. Can't even tell you guys how much I've learned from reading through the posts. I am new to tiling, although, I've done work in various trades when I was younger. Now I sit at a desk all day. So I have a tendency to get into things as soon as I get out of the office.
The latest thing I've gotten into is a bathroom project in my mother's condo. She decided that she wanted new everything in there, so I decided it would be a project I'd be interested in tackling.
The shower and tub were no real problem. My past work experience got me through most of that and this site answered the questions that I had as I was going along.
Now I'm onto the floor. She's decided on a small porcelain tile. About 2 x 2. Now here's my question.....I ripped up the old tile (ceramic 4 x 4's) and there is what looks like a light gray cement floor. Most of it is in good shape. There are only certain spots where the cement came up with the tile and left me with a couple shallow holes. Now does anyone have any idea if this would be, in fact, a cement floor in a second floor condo bathroom? Or would it most likely be gypcrete which I've read about on this site? I don't know what gypcrete looks like so I'm not sure.
Can I tile right over what's there, filling in the holes with thinset?
What kind of thinset should I use? I used versabond on the shower walls (ceramic tile over the cement board I put in).
Can I use it on the floor with porcelain tiles or do I need a thinset that I modify with acrylic?
Any advice would be much appreciated.

Dave

Sponsored Links

Davy
08-05-2004, 08:26 PM
Hi Dave, I'm not sure on the type of floor you've got but I would think Versabond would stick just as good as the old tile and thinset. I would fill the holes with thinset and let dry before tiling. :)

Rd Tile