Black fades to Gray [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Black fades to Gray

kalford
06-14-2001, 09:48 PM
Does anybody know if there is ANYTHING you can do to keep black grout black? It seems that everytime I see a tile job where black grout was used,sanded,it loses it's pigment and after only a short time.

Sponsored Links

Bud Cline
06-14-2001, 10:20 PM
That kind of strikes me as peculiar because I have a project in mind that I did 5 years ago, kitchen floor, kitchen counter top, bath floor, vanity top, and kids bedroom. I have been working inside and outside of this house for the past five years and everything is in pretty good shape, grout is still black as the day it was installed. Some discoloration on the vanity top but the water there is 15 grains.

Bri
06-14-2001, 10:32 PM
The two most difficult grout colours to keep clean?
1. White
2. Black

It also wouldn't hurt if they used black sand in the black grout, since the white silica shows through after a while.

Sonnie Layne
06-14-2001, 10:37 PM
I would suspect a difference in manufacturers qualities of the dyes used, perhaps you two could share and compare the brands? I'm only a painter, and I'm thinking lamp black, but you'd sure have to be careful, as it'll not come up easily.

kalford
06-14-2001, 10:47 PM
Bri,
I think you hit the nail on the head!! In each case I noticed that the grout not only wasn't black(in places) but was concrete gray.The sand used could easily cause this.I'd be willing to bet that the grout was an el-cheapo.Combine the "wrong" color sand with cheap dye and .....PRESTO....faded grout!

chip
06-15-2001, 04:29 AM
I'm guessing that since it is black, the only color change you could notice is a lighter shade.